Meet the main student contacts at Ellis...

Carolina
My name is Carolina. I go to The Ellis School, in Pittsburgh Pennsylvania. I am in eighth grade, and am 14 years old.

My favorite subjects include history, music, and theater. I am an extremely dramatic person, who likes to act and sing a lot. I like school, although I do not waking up in the morning.

I have one older sister who is in college and attends Carnegie Mellon University. My younger brother is in fourth grade at Carlow College Campus School. I have a dog and seven horses. I enjoy singing, acting, sleeping, eating, listening to music, and having fun. I also like to speak several languages, including: English, Spanish, French, and a little bit of German and Italian.

In this Project I would like to learn more about different countries and make friends around the world.
Contact: carolinave@epals.com

 

Anya
Hello, my name is Anya. I am thirteen years old and in the eighth grade. I go to The Ellis school.

My favorite subject at school is history; I am also in the volunteering club called guild. Our grade is performing a play in March; and I am helping with the makeup, hair, and costumes for the people acting in the play. I like school, but it can be very difficult sometimes! Our school does do a lot of fun activities! I do not like wearing a uniform to school everyday, but sometimes we can wear our own clothes!

I have a sister who is nineteen years old; she is in college in California. I also have a brother who is in high school right now. I have a very cute dog. He is one and a half years old, and his name is Kobi. I really like to do gymnastics after school, but I also take diving lessons, ice skating, and tennis.

My goal for this project is to get to know many people in countries all over the world, and learn more about their cultures. I am eager to meet many people!
Contact: anyab@epals.com



Ashley
My name is Ashley. I am 14 years old and am in the eighth grade at The Ellis School. This school is in Pittsburgh , a city in western Pennsylvania in the United States.

My favorite subject in school is math. I also like English and history. I like to learn new things in school; however, I am not particularly fond of taking tests.

I have one younger sister, two older sisters and one older brother. I also have a niece who is almost 2 years old. The only pet I have is a fish, although I really love dogs.

I take dancing lessons and baby-sit after school. I am also in a bowling league, and take religious classes.

My goals for this project are to meet other people and to communicate with them about global issues.
Contact: ashleyma8@epals.com

 

Chrissy
My name is Chrissy. I live in White Oak, Pennsylvania in the United States. I am 14 years old.

I am in the 8th grade at The Ellis School for girls. I have been attending Ellis since Kindergarten. My favorite subject is English, because I like writing stories and reading interesting books. I don't like math.

I have no sisters or brothers. I have three cats, two fish, and a Guinea Pig. I love the colors blue and black. I love to ride horses, I have been taking lessons for about three years. I play Field Hockey on a team at Ellis in the fall.

I would really like to learn a lot about other countries and their cultures through the Global Perspectives project.
Contact: chrissyl@epals.com

 

Jessica
My name is Jessica. I am almost 14 years old and in 8th grade at The Ellis School. I was born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. I have four brothers and sisters. My older sister is a third and fourth grade teacher, my two older brothers are in college, and my younger sister is in third grade.

I'm very interested in swimming, soccer, skiing, and snow boarding. My main hobbie is acting. I'm in many plays including: "Into the Woods," "Parent Trap," and "Fiddler on the Roof."

My favorite subject is history. I like learning about my past and the world I'm living in. My least favorite class is math. I like spending time with friends and meeting new people.

I'm interested in doing this project so I can learn about other places in the world and learning various ideas on different subjects.
Contact: jessicasc21@epals.com

 

Morgan
My name is Morgan. I will be 14 years old on March 17th. I am in 8th grade at The Ellis School. I was born in New York City, but I moved with my family to Pittsburgh when I was young. My favorite subjects in school are English and history.

Some hobbies I enjoy in my free time are kick-boxing, horseback riding, swim team, community service and cross country team. I have a puppy named Isabelle and a twin sister named Alexa.

I have gone to the Ellis School since kindergarten. I like school because I love being with my friends; however, it is a lot of work and boring sometimes. On weekends I love seeing movies, spending time with my friends, sleeping, and going shopping!

In the Global Perspectives project, I would like to learn about other cultures and raise awareness for different problems around the world.
Contact: morgange2@epals.com

 

Nafisa
My name is Nafisa, and I go to The Ellis School. I live in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. I am in the 8th grade, and I am 13 years old. I was born on May 7, 1988.

I don't have a favorite subject. I don't really like math or gym. I don't like waking up in the morning because I have to wake up at 6:00 in the morning.

I have one brother who is ten years old. I like to play tennis, and I play the violin. I like to watch television. Sometimes I read books.

For this project. I would like to learn about other global issues.
Contact: nafisami@epals.com

 

Remy
My name is Remy. I go to The Ellis School in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania in the United States. I am in 8th grade and I turned 14 on January 8, 2002. I was born in Houston, Texas but moved to Pittsburgh when I was two years old; I haven't been t here since, but I would love to visit it one day.

My favorite subjects are history and English. History is interesting because I am able to find our about the world and English is just fun. I think that school can be hard sometimes, but it is a good time to be with friends and learn new things.

I have an older sister who is in college right now. Some of my hobbies are swimming, running, and playing tennis. I like to do community service, and I try to participate at least once a week. I also like to go shopping with friends on the weekends.

My project goals are to meet new people and talk to them about different events that have happened in the world. Also, I would like to talk to people about what their countries are like and their daily lives.
Contact: remym@epals.com

 

Sarah
My name is Sarah. I am 13 years old, I will be 14 on April 17. I am in 8th grade and go to The Ellis School for girls. My favorite subjects are Math and Gym. I play field hockey for my school.

In about a month I am going to participate in a program called Futures for Field hockey, which helps with skills development. At the end of the program there is a tournament. The coaches and other people watch your skills in the game, and they choose the best girls. The girls that they pick get to move up to the next level.
I like going shopping and going to movies with my friends. I also like running and sleeping.

I want to be able to communicate with people all other the world and talk about conflicts about the world. I think this project is going to be very fun.
Contact: sarahch@epals.com

 

Katie
I am 14 years old and currently in 8th grade. My favorite subject in school is English. At school I am involved in many different sports; these include cross-country, swimming, and tennis. I like school because I have a chance to see all my friends at the same time! I don't like it sometimes because it is a lot of hard work, and sometimes hard for me to handle.

Outside of school I like to go shopping with my friends. I have two sisters, one older and one younger. I have a Siberian Husky; she is really cool! Some of my hobbies include sports, community services, kick-boxing and others.
For this project my goals are to be able to talk to others from around the world and to be able to get their perspectives on their views on important issues. This is because some of the most important issues that are happening now in the world are effecting everyone in the world, and not just some.
Contact: kaitiele7@epals.com

Jane
My name is Jane. I am a 8th grade student at the Ellis School, and I am 13 years old. I've been going to Ellis since I was in 4th grade. Ellis is a K-12 school.

My favorite subjects are art and history. I play basketball, lacrosse, and tennis. I love to act and draw. I like school, but sometimes it can be difficult.

I have a six year old brother and a 15 year old sister. I love animals; I have three cats. Out of school I like to spend time with friends, act, and play sports.

For this project I would like to learn more about different cultures and hear other people's opinions on global current events.
Contact: janesc1@epals.com

Return to GP-2002